Murmuring Records Releases “Open,” by Serendipity Club

01. Serendipity Club – “Release
02. Serendipity Club – “Honey
03. Serendipity Club – “Blue
04. Serendipity Club – “Clam Shack

Open [EP]
Open, the second EP by musical collective, Serendipity Club, is also the second release from emerging label, Murmuring Records. Rooted in ambient downtempo/chill-out, the EP draws inspiration from found objects and field recordings. Hints of Bonobo merge with memories of Thievery Corporation. While Serendipity Club’s first EP, Wide is more beat-forward and expansive, Open has a more dreamy, ephemeral feel. “Clam Shack” features collaboration with Brian E. King, Stu Dietz and Liz McBride of Boston’s Parks.

01 – Release
With lush layers of dub delay and delicate harp runs, “Release” is a a dreamy downtempo track that evokes a sense of nostalgia and melancholia. “That is all I can think of saying about it,” reveals Beth Burnett, “at least publicly.”

02 – Honey
“Honey,” came about one Friday afternoon, when friend and Berklee College of Music grad, Liam Sullivan, stopped by the studio with his upright bass,” explains Beth Burnett. “I’d prepared some half-dozen Pro Tools sessions with drum loops and ostinatos to jumpstart the jam – Liam on upright, me on electric piano – and recorded the results. Months later, when I dusted off the recordings, I found there was something very special about this track. So I added some new parts, including a toy piano, rearranged, remixed and generally fretted until I had what I liked. Then, uber-talented Matthew Girard came by and mixed and mastered the track to give it that added polish.”

03 – Blue
“Blue” is the audio portion of an abstract video produced by Beth Burnett’s husband, Robin. The video chronicles the emergence of daylight from pre-dawn until early morning. Birdsong intersects with trumpets, piano interacts with upright bass – all while developing into a crescendo of hope and life. The music, “Blue,” was featured in the award-winning documentary, REVEALED.

04 – Clam Shack
“Clam Shack” evolved out of a PledgeMusic campaign launched by Boston band Parks. Songwriter/producer Beth Burnett made a pledge in return for collaboration with Brian E. King, Stu Dietz and Liz McBride. The group got together in the summer of ’16, riffing ideas and recording guitar and synth lines over a rhythmic bed Burnett provided with sounds recorded in a cistern. “We had a blast working with Beth,” says Brian E. King. During the session, Liz McBride felt the track had a strong “road trip” vibe, so Matthew Girard and Burnett accentuated the laid back feel as they polished up the mix.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *